Developed by Canadian Partnership Against Cancer & Health Canada this document includes a PSW specific competency framework for the delivery of palliative care. There are 11 Competencies including:

  1. Principles of a palliative approach to care
  2. Cultural Safety and Humility
  3. Communication
  4. Optimizing Comfort and quality of Life
  5. Care Planning and Collaborative Practice
  6. Last Days and Hours
  7. Loss, Grief and Bereavement
  8. Self Care
  9. Professional and Ethical Practice
  10. Education, evaluation, quality improvement and research
  11. Advocacy

The entire document can serve as a curriculum guide for nurses, general physicians, volunteers, social workers and PSWs.  It includes professional self-assessments tools for PSWs in addition to valuable resources for those providing EOL care.